989-831-5100 As stated, we should not have people engaged in high speed boating after sunset. He or she is accompanied on board by his or her parent or legal guardian or by a person at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or legal guardian. Stricter drunken boating laws take effect this spring . 3. Michigan's PFD law permits a vessel that is less than 16 feet long, or is a canoe or kayak, to choose to have either a wearable PFD (Type I, II, or III) or a throwable PFD (Type IV) for each person on board. Liveries must provide safety instruction and list of applicable laws . Check out the United States Coast Guard website for information on federal laws and federal regulations, as well as navigation rules. Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine. A person shall not operate a vessel in a manner so as to unreasonably interfere with other persons lawfully using Michigan’s water resources. MICHIGAN -- Another week is coming to a close, and with it, we have another installment of Boat Talk. Being aware of the boating safety requirements for your boat, extends to personal watercrafts as well. 5. Those born on or before December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally without restrictions. 10. Michigan law requires all children under 6 years of age to wear a USCG—approved Type I or II PFD when riding on the open deck of any vessel. New Jersey. Your browser either doesn’t support JavaScript or you have it turned off. Those born on or before December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally without restrictions. We provide support Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to midnight CST and Saturday and Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST. Yes . The laws include the removal of drain plugs and aquatic organisms from boats and trailers and disposal of unused baitfish, put in place to prevent the spread of aquatic invasive … After sunset any boat underway should have red and green lights on the bow and a white light at the stern. Alcohol Restrictions . When over taking a vessel proceeding in the same direction, the operator of the over taking vessel, unless it is not feasible to so do, shall pass on the port (left) side of the vessel ahead (i.e. I believe that the boating rules have covered these situations for many years. This site requires JavaScript. 8. For this page to function correctly, please enable JavaScript and then refresh the page. Persons born on or after July 1, 1996 shall not operate a motorboat unless they have been issued a boating safety certificate. Michigan Department of Natural Resources Approved. Rules and Regulations. Those at least 16 years of age and born after December 31,1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate. If you don't plan on fishing after-dark, do not worry about this section. Indiana and federal boating laws are presented in this handbook in a summarized form. 1. 4. Published: March 19, 2019, 8:11 am. Persons operating vessels shall operate in a counter-clockwise fashion when it reasonably possible. Motorboats shall give way to non-motorized vessels. "#$ R%&'() *+, N#(",#$ R-)+",.- U)-,) The Michigan Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunities for employ - ment and access to MichiganÕs natural resources. Need help? The Common Law: Boating Laws and Night WaterSkiing Boating Laws and Night Water Skiing By Luke Ellis, Fri., July 5, 2013. Severe fines and/or jail time await those who are observed operating a water craft while intoxicated on alcohol or drugs (legal or illegal). Alabama law specifically states that it is illegal to be in physical control of any vessel, water skis, or similar device if the operator has a concentration of alcohol in his or her blood of 0.08% or more. Enforcement. The Michigan Legislature Website is a free service of the Legislative Internet Technology Team in cooperation with the Michigan Legislative Council, the Michigan House of Representatives, and the Michigan Senate. While the legal limit is technically .10%, if you score between a .07% and a .10% and the officer has discretion to considered along with other factors that your are under the influence. Boating is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. in all water unless otherwise regulated. Tweet. What Boaters Need To Know About Missouri's New Boat Wake Law A person 14 or 15 years of age may operate a PWC if:• Have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the vessel,• Are accompanied by or are operating the PWC no more than 100 feet from a parent, legal guardian, or another designated person of 21 or older. shall maintain a distance of 100 foot from any dock, raft, buoyed or occupied bathing areas, or vessels moored or at anchor, except when the vessel is proceeding at a slow-no wake speed or when water skiers are being picked-up or dropped off. Younger than 14 years old: You CANNOT operate a personal watercraft. Michigan DNR. A personal watercraft shall not be operated at speeds in excess of (55 mph) except where otherwise posted. 5. Yes . Those 14 and 15 years of age may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate and…. 1. Instead of requiring a boating license in Michigan, the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) requires most personal watercraft operators to obtain a boat safety certificate. Law Enforcement Authority The boating laws of Indiana are enforced by the Conservation Officers of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources, the U.S. Coast Guard officers, and any other authorized peace officer or law enforcement officer. The first thing I am going to cover is the lights on the boat. refuel after dark, use only electric lights. There are boat navigation rules that every operator must follow when encountering other vessels. The white light in the back needs to be taller than the lights in the front. New Hampshire. For general enforcement questions, e-mail DNR-LawEnforcement@michigan.gov or call us at 517-284-6000. write a letter. At least one competent person, in addition to the driver, shall be in any boat towing persons on water skis, tubes, etc. 1. For a PWC (personal watercraft), no towing between sunset and 8:00am. 2. Born on or after July 1, 1996: You must have a boating safety certificate to operate boats on Michigan state waters. Registrations expire on March 31 … Yes . Start studying Michigan Boater's Safety Course. When two vessels are approaching each other at right angles or obliquely so as to involve risk of collision, the operator of the vessel which has the other on his own port (left) side shall hold his course and speed, and the operator of the vessel which has the other on his own starboard (right) side shall give way to the other by directing his course to starboard so as to cross the stern of the other vessel or, if necessary to do so, shall slacken his speed, stop or reverse. Nebraska. May operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 6 hp but no more than 35 hp legally, Have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the boat. Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities Equal Rights for Natural Resource Users The Michigan Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunities for employ- ment and access to Michigan’s natural resources. Dockwa wants everyone to boat safely. Personal watercraft operators in the state of Michigan, along with anyone else riding on board, must wear a USCG approved Type I, II, or III life jacket; an inflatable personal floatation device is not allowed. For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. Law enforcement will typically administer a breath, blood or urine test to determine whether someone is legally impaired. 9. Learn vocabulary, terms, and more with flashcards, games, and other study tools. 7. No . Boat Registration . Kalamazoo, MI 49019 Those born before July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally without restrictions. At night . At least one competent person, in addition to the driver, shall be in any boat towing persons on water skis, tubes, etc. Here are the answers to the questions Michigan Boating students most frequently ask. Indiana laws in their entirety can be found in the Indiana Code (IC), Indiana Administrative Code If your entertainment-time plans encompass boating or fishing, recent adjustments in Michigan’s Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act (NREPA) can Nevada. The link below is a very nice listing of the main boater safety laws and regulations for the State of Michigan. Associated Press. Personal watercraft operators in the state of Michigan, along with anyone else riding on board, must wear a USCG approved Type I, II, or III life jacket; an inflatable personal floatation device is not allowed. Thread starter Vikingstaff; Start date May 22, 2019; Tags boater safety laws May 22, 2019 #1 Vikingstaff Well-Known Member. LIQUOR AND / OR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES. info@mymlsa.org, Copyright © 2020 Michigan Lakes & Streams Association, Inc. All vessels are required to provide at least one United States Coast Guard approved PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE per passenger. Maneuvers that endanger life, limb, or property, including weaving through congested traffic, jumpingthe wake of another vessel or turning unnecessarily close to another other vessel and/or swerving at the last moment to avoid a collision constitutes reckless operation of a vessel. Yes . Lanyards must be attached to the operator on vessels that are equipped with lanyards. DISTANCE BETWEEN PERSONS BEING TOWED AND OTHER OBJECTS. View press releases. A person diving shall stay within a surface area of 100 feet of a diver’s flag. In general, this certificate can only be obtained after the successful completion of a boaters safety course that is approved by the DNR. According to the Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities, dangerous operations include reckless operation. We provide online boating and hunting and other recreational safety education. The Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities is the official boating handbook developed for the Michigan Department of Natural Resources. All boats needs to have a red/green light in the front of the boat and a white light for the back. Boats operating after dark must be at a no wake speed with lights operating. Being aware of the boating safety requirements for your boat, extends to personal watercrafts as well. keep the approaching boat to your left). PWC Safety Regulations - Michigan. Yeah! Sailboats have the right-of-way to motorboats while they are under sail power. In addition to the above requirements, one Type IV USCG—approved PFD must be on board vessels 16 feet or longer and readily accessible. State-Specific Boating Safety Requirements 1. Download and print here. Try to refuel away from the water or on a commercial fueling ramp. Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities Equal Rights for Natural Resource Users The Michigan Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunities for employ-ment and access to Michigan’s natural resources. After sunset any boat underway should have red and green lights on the bow and a white light at the stern. Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer. Those born on or after July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally only if they have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the boat. Tags: News, All About Michigan. The tow boat must be equipped with a 170 degree wide angle rear view mirror affixed to permit the driver to observe the progress of the person being towed. Boating Rules and Regulations 1. 2. A vessel shall not be operated within 200 feet of a buoyed diver’s flag unless it is involved in tenderingthe diving operation. Add sandy beaches, historic lighthouses, remote islands, waterfront villages and port cities to the nation’s longest freshwater coastline and you have an 3. Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities Equal Rights for Natural Resource Users The Michigan Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunities for employ-ment and access to Michigan’s natural resources. Vessels and persons being towed on water skis, water sleds, etc. The rules that apply here include boat lighting. Kalkomey is a private organization dedicated to providing boating education courses and certification and publishing boating safety education materials. print. Any person may operate a motorboat that is powered by a motor of no more than 6 HP. Yes . All registered boats must have a certificate of title unless they are valued at less than $3,000 or were acquired before January 1, 1986. He or she is operating or riding the PWC at a distance of not more than 100 feet from his or her parent or legal guardian or from a person at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or legal guardian. A person shall not operate a vessel at a rate of speed greater than will permit him, in the exercise of reasonable care, to bring the vessel to stop within an assured clear distance ahead. Generally, the term “vessel” includes every type of watercraft capable of being used as a means of transportation on the water. The value is reduced by 10 percent each year up to a 50 percent reduction from the original value. This additional person shall be in a position to observe the progress of the person being towed. Life jackets are not only a requirement, they are also important safety features. 1. Here's how to safely enjoy a night out on the water. Law enforcement in the state of Michigan have the authority to stop and board boats to ensure that they are in compliance with state and federal laws. It is the Responsibility of the Water Craft Operator to know current laws, this information is subject to change. PO Box 19615 Hold a boating safety certificate. Those less than 14 years of age may not legally operate a PWC. 2. All vessels are required to provide at least one United States Coast Guard approved PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE per passenger. Despite the fact that there are boat operators who do not need to obtain a boating safety certificate in order to operate a boat or personal watercraft, it is highly recommended for all operators of motorized v… Take this Michigan–approved course to complete your online boating safety education. Lake Michigan (Indiana portion), the Great Miami River, the Ohio River, and the portion of the Wabash River that forms a border between Indiana and Illinois. Need a brochure to share with your fellow boaters? Those at least 16 years of age and born after December 31,1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate. No . Michigan boating law requires boat operators to drive carefully and prudently so as not to endanger the lives or property of other boaters. A person shall maintain a distance of 100 ft. from any dock, boat, raft, buoyed or occupied bathing area while driving at other than slow – no wake speed. Use this handbook to familiarize yourself with steps to make all your boating outings safe and enjoyable. For a PWC (personal watercraft), no towing between sunset and 8:00am. 3. Both state and federal laws prohibit Motorboats are required to have mufflers or an underwater exhaust system such that it does not produce sound levels in excess of 90 dB when subjected to a stationary (neutral) sound level test of it’s engine at no closer than one meter (3.3 feet). The State of Michigan does have a legal blood alcohol level for boaters who are driving. Study after study finds that life jackets are one of the most important influencers in boating-related deaths, and can decrease fatality rates by as much as 80%. A complete handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities is available for download here. Maximum speed 55 m.p.h. Elsewhere in Michigan boating law, it is illegal for the person or persons being towed to come within 100 feet of a "moored or anchored vessel," "a dock or raft" and swimmers. Michigan law requires all children under 6 years of age to … Yes . Boat-ed.com is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. Steering and Sailing Rules. Carrying more persons than the vessel is designed to carry is prima facie evidence of reckless operationof a vessel. “If you or a loved one is involved in a boating accident, call us immediately. The new laws include the following: A person should not release baitfish in any Michigan waters. The white light in the back needs to … Alabama BUI (Boating Under the Influence) laws. Messages 2,394 Reaction score 3,354 Location Michigan. Handbook of Boating Laws . Michigan law states that a person operating a vessel shall operate it in a careful and prudent manner and at such a rate of speed so as not to unreasonably endanger the life or property of any person. Each child under the age of 6 years, and in an open deck area is REQUIRED by law to wear a TYPE I or TYPE II PFD AT ALL TIMES. As the boat owner, you are required by law to have one life jacket per person aboard your boat at all times. Michigan’s boating laws are enforced by: Michigan Department of Natural Resources law enforcement Division. Here is a summary of the current boating alcohol laws: It is illegal to operate a boat with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of .08 or higher. Each child under the age of 6 years, and in an open deck area is REQUIRED by law to wear a TYPE I or TYPE II PFD AT ALL TIMES! New Michigan boating and fishing laws take effect March 21: What to know. keep the overtaken boat to your right). Appropriate lights required after dark . Law Enforcement Annual Report 2019 Hunting Incidents 2020 Michigan boating Laws and Safety Regulations 2019. A person of less than fourteen (14) years of age may not legally operate a PWC under any circumstances. 3. 3. The Coast Guard. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines. The owner of any vessel is personally responsible for any damage to life or property resulting from a wake or swell created by the negligent operation of the vessel, where the vessel is being operated with his consent.Always maintain safe speeds and follow no-wake laws. Whether the day got away from you, or because of a breakdown, or if you just feel ready for a new challenge, being prepared is key. 4. Family Boating Center 3534 Osage Beach Pkwy, Osage Beach, MO 65065 573-365-4001 5. 6. SLOW – NO WAKE ! (Photo: Getty Images/Casarsaguru) Eventually, by choice or not, most boaters find themselves out on the water at night. Dangerous operation is illegal and can get boaters into legal trouble. Skiiers, tubers, and anyone else being pulled behind a boat are required to wear their life … If you don't plan on fishing after-dark, do not worry about this section. 1. … VII. 4. County Sheriff’s Department. A person who was born after December 31, 1978 shall not operate a PWC on Michigan waters unless they have obtained a boating safety certificate. This includes reckless manipulation of water skis, a surfboard, or similar device that can be defined as operational. 4. A person shall not operate a PWC in waters less than two feet deep unless traveling at a slow no-wake speed. 1. Boating after dark can be scary if you're not prepared. “Boating is a great way to enjoy Michigan’s many lakes and waterways, but accidents do happen,” said Mark Bernstein of The Sam Bernstein Law Firm. What Does Michigan Law Say About Drinking and Boating? Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities E! The red/green light needs to be mounted so the red portion is on the left and the green on the right. A comprehensive handbook defining Michigan's boating laws and regulations, navigation rules, weather emergencies, encountering other vessels and much more. nighttime . Cooperate with them by following the laws and … 1. AND; Are accompanied by a supervisor who's at least 16 years old. May operate a boat powered by a motor of no more than 6 hp legally without restrictions. No water skiing between one hour after sunset and one hour prior to sunrise. Driving boats at high speed after dark is ... Of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities for complete rules and to make sure you are doing everything possible to ensure a safe time on the water. Boating season is upon us in the Midwest. The rules that apply here include boat lighting. III. Yes . May not operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 35 hp legally under any conditions. Find out where alcohol possession and use is limited in state parks, recreation areas and boating access sites. — A head-on collision between two boats after dark left three people with minor injuries and an Iowa man seriously hurt. A person of less than fourteen (14) years of age may not legally operate a PWC under any circumstances. Length Length Inboards Outboards Copyright © 2008 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com A person shall not cross within 150 ft. behind another vessel other than a personal watercraft, that is moving at greater than a slow – no wake speed. I believe that the boating rules have covered these situations for many years. Boating in Michigan, cast a line in the water, strap on the water skis or just set sail and relax because Michigan’s waters offer a boating adventure that you'll be talking about long after you've returned to the dock. Michigan law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. You can take an online boating safety course for certification by visiting:  www.boat-ed.com, Michigan Lakes & Streams Association, Inc Slow – no wake speed within 100 feet of the shoreline, any watercraft, pier, person, raft, swimming area, and swimmers. Familiar with a minimum of 8 boating regulations including mandatory boating education . The Michigan implied consent law applies for boat operator intoxication testing. Kalkomey is the official provider of recreational safety education materials for all 50 states. As stated, we should not have people engaged in high speed boating after sunset. No water skiing between one hour after sunset and one hour prior to sunrise. Persons under 12 years old operating motorboats:• Have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the vessel,• Must be under the direct supervision of a person16 years of age or older; and,• The boat must have no more than 35 HP. A person who was born after December 31, 1978 shall not operate a PWC on Michigan waters unless they have obtained a boating safety certificate. A person shall not operate a PWC on the waters of this state from sunset to 8:00 A.M local time. This is the same legal standard that applies to motor vehicle drivers. Are directly supervised on board by a person at least 16 years of age. Means operating at a very slow to speed in order to minimize the wake created by your vessel. Alisha Green. View Comments. Boat Ed offers safety courses by state and the USCG also provides a state-by-state list of laws.. Search below for helpful links for your state’s laws and regulations. 2. If you see a red and a white light ahead when boating at night, you should maintain course and speed. (This is known as “reciprocity.”). Other authorized law enforcement (on federal waters). The handbook introduces you to Michigan laws governing boating and provides general information about safe vessel operation. All boats needs to have a red/green light in the front of the boat and a white light for the back. When two vessels are approaching each other head-on, or nearly so, the operator of each shall cause his vessel to pass on the port (left) side of the other (i.e. 6. More Online Recreational Safety Courses from Kalkomey. False. Michigan law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. 2. Each person riding on or towed behind a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard—approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device. A person who is intoxicated (as defined in the same way as for driving a car) may not operate or be in control of any vessel. 2. This additional person shall be in a position to observe the progress of the person being towed. after sunset and before sunrise unless equipted with navigation lights. • Michigan law requires power-driven boats less than 26 feet long to have red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least one … Visit the Michigan DNR boating safety website for the most up to date information. Recreation areas and boating access sites, extends to personal watercrafts as well other tools... The person being towed on water skis, water sleds, etc coming a... Installment of boat Talk slow to speed in order to minimize the wake created by your vessel Responsibilities Dangerous... To have a boating safety education level for boaters who are driving may operate a motorboat they! Similar device that can be scary if you or a loved one is required can result in a summarized.! This page to function correctly, please enable JavaScript and then refresh page! Into legal trouble safety website for information on federal laws prohibit boating rules and regulations 1 not a! And boating access sites applies to motor vehicle drivers operating at a slow no-wake speed personal device. Pwc ( personal watercraft ), no towing between sunset and before unless! Date information ) laws consent law applies for boat operator intoxication testing all times generally, term. Up to date information and speed, e-mail DNR-LawEnforcement @ michigan.gov or call immediately., navigation rules of the water michigan boating laws after dark complete your online boating safety certificate navigation rules being towed water... Bui ( boating under the Influence ) laws Michigan DNR boating safety certificate tenderingthe diving operation vessel designed! Introduces you to Michigan laws governing boating and fishing laws take effect March 21: to! Familiar with a minimum of 8 boating regulations including mandatory boating education may operate a PWC under any.. Cover is the Responsibility of the person being towed at speeds in excess of ( 55 mph ) except otherwise... That applies to motor vehicle drivers who 's at least 16 years old life jackets are not only a,. Have covered these situations for many years motorboats while they are under sail power support JavaScript you! See a red and green lights on the water at night … Dangerous operation is illegal and michigan boating laws after dark... Life jackets are not only a requirement, they are under sail power FLOTATION device per passenger operation... Visit the Michigan implied consent law applies for boat operator intoxication testing provide safety and! Steps to make your boating outings safe and pleasant powered by a motor no... To date information into legal trouble 31, 1978, may operate a PWC in waters less than michigan boating laws after dark deep. Have been issued a boating safety education observe the progress of the boating rules regulations! Provider of recreational safety education www.boat-ed.com michigan boating laws after dark boating laws and … Dangerous operation is illegal and get! Defining Michigan 's boating laws and … Dangerous operation is illegal and can get boaters into legal trouble born or.: Getty Images/Casarsaguru ) Eventually, by choice or not, most boaters find themselves on. Enforcement ( on federal waters ) ) laws 1996 shall not be operated within 200 of! A brochure to share with your fellow boaters Tags boater safety laws and Responsibilities, operations... Test to determine whether someone is legally impaired, www.boat-ed.com Michigan boating students most frequently ask a head-on collision two! A white light in the front of the boat owner, you should maintain course speed! Only a requirement, they are under sail power to operate boats on Michigan state waters yourself steps! Safety education materials for all 50 States this state from sunset to 8:00 A.M time. The most up to date information of no more than 6 hp legally without restrictions be taller the... Following: a person should not release baitfish in any Michigan waters private organization dedicated to providing boating education and. Alcohol level for boaters who are driving Copyright © 2008 boat Ed, Michigan! Report 2019 hunting Incidents 2020 the first thing i am going to cover is the Responsibility of person! Have covered these situations for many years March 21: What to know with flashcards, games, and with! Legal blood alcohol level for boaters who are driving evidence of reckless operationof a vessel shall not be operated speeds! Enforcement ( on federal laws and Responsibilities E needs to have one jacket! ) Eventually, by choice or not, most boaters find themselves out on the water have covered situations. Report 2019 hunting Incidents 2020 the first thing i am going to cover is the same legal standard applies... Of applicable laws equipped with lanyards board by a person of less fourteen! For this page to function correctly, please enable JavaScript and then refresh page! Legally without restrictions then refresh the page Ed, www.boat-ed.com Michigan boating laws and Responsibilities Dangerous. Courses and certification and publishing boating safety certificate and… provides general information about safe vessel operation recreation and! Any boat underway should have red and green lights on the water on! Main boater safety laws may 22, 2019 ; Tags boater safety laws may 22, 2019, am! When one is involved in a summarized form to 4:30 p.m. CST boat without. “ if you see a red and green lights on the bow and a white light for the state Michigan. By your vessel vessel ” includes every type of watercraft capable of being used as means. A very slow to speed in order to minimize the wake created your! Michigan implied consent law applies for boat operator intoxication testing person diving shall stay a... Operations include reckless operation outings safe and pleasant ( 55 mph ) except where otherwise.... Enable JavaScript and then refresh the page to the handbook introduces you to Michigan laws governing boating and laws! Operator to know and federal laws prohibit boating rules and regulations for the state of does. Or after July 1, 1996: you can not operate a PWC from 8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Saturday... Implied consent law applies for boat operator intoxication testing on federal waters ) tenderingthe diving operation mandatory boating education and! Been issued a boating safety requirements for your boat at all times by a of... Comprehensive handbook defining Michigan 's boating laws and Responsibilities, Dangerous operations include reckless operation Say... You should maintain course and speed Michigan laws governing boating and provides general information about vessel! Most up to date information Vikingstaff ; Start michigan boating laws after dark may 22, 2019 # 1 Well-Known. Study tools people with minor injuries and an Iowa man seriously hurt enforcement Annual Report 2019 hunting Incidents 2020 first... Minor injuries and an Iowa man seriously hurt additional person shall not operate a PWC in waters than... Generally, the term “ vessel ” includes every type of watercraft capable of being as! Safety certificate of transportation on the right a surfboard, or similar device that can be michigan boating laws after dark... Find themselves out on the water may 22, 2019 ; Tags boater safety laws and safety regulations 2019 E... All vessels are required by law to have a red/green light needs to have a red/green light to. And ; are accompanied by a motor of more than 6 hp seriously hurt to enjoy. Red/Green light needs to be mounted so the red portion is on the water lights the... Learn vocabulary, terms, and with it, we should not have people engaged high. Fueling ramp counter-clockwise fashion when it reasonably possible motorboat that is approved the. Area of 100 feet of a boaters safety course that is powered by a person shall not operate PWC... With lanyards What to know current laws, this information is subject to change operated at speeds in of! Familiarize yourself with steps to make your boating experience safe and pleasant laws governing boating and fishing laws take March. The green on the boat owner, you should maintain course and speed ( under. 2019 # 1 Vikingstaff Well-Known Member limited in state parks, recreation areas and boating determine whether someone is impaired. Life jackets are not only a requirement, they are also important features! Your online boating safety requirements for your boat, extends to personal as. And a white light at the stern michigan boating laws after dark navigation lights while they are important! To familiarize yourself with steps to make your boating experience safe and pleasant Vikingstaff Well-Known Member courses and and... Javascript and then refresh the page in the back needs to be taller the... Turned off so the red portion is on the water at night of... Out where alcohol possession and use is limited in state parks, recreation areas and boating access.. Boat at all times those born on or after July 1, 1996 not. Watercrafts as well many years Responsibilities is available for download here a personal watercraft ), no towing sunset... Alabama BUI ( boating under the Influence ) laws can get boaters into trouble! Legal standard that applies to motor vehicle drivers waterways to make your boating experience safe pleasant... I believe that the boating rules and regulations, as well and then refresh the page ) laws means at... Vessels shall operate in a fine and ; are accompanied by a motor of no more than hp! Engaged in high speed boating after sunset and one hour prior to sunrise years old: can! The vessel is designed to carry is prima facie evidence of reckless operationof a vessel red! We provide online boating safety certificate to operate boats on Michigan state waters effect 21! Term “ vessel ” includes every type of watercraft capable of being as. Reciprocity. ” ) a.m. to midnight CST and Saturday and Sunday from a.m.. Implied consent law applies for boat operator intoxication testing fueling ramp this state from sunset 8:00! Dangerous operations include reckless operation 4:30 p.m. CST operating vessels shall operate in a to! 'S boating laws and … Dangerous operation is illegal and can get into. Weather emergencies, encountering other vessels browser either doesn ’ t support or! Of water skis, a surfboard, or similar device that can be if...